Clarification of the 2009 Rule Change for Major and Match Penalties
Tony Mariconda asked that the following interpretation from USA Hockey be posted immediately on AAHArefs.
The important new information is shown below in bold print:
The 2009 rule change to Rule 403 & 405 and its interpretation:
For a player that is assessed a non-coincident major penalty and game misconduct (or a non-coincident match penalty in the case of Rule 405), the offending team is not required to immediately place a substitute on the penalty bench and may do so prior to the expiration of the penalty. No player may enter the game except from the penalty bench with a bench minor penalty being assessed for a violation.
... will apply only to situations where players receive a Match penalty or a Major penalty and a Game Misconduct (or are injured). So if a player receives a Major plus Game Misconduct for checking from behind, he is removed from the game and his team may wait to put a substitute player in the penalty box. The substitute may enter the box at any stoppage during the Major penalty.
The substitute player may only enter the box by way of the ice and only during a stoppage. Any substitution made outside these guidelines shall be penalized for Illegal Substitution.
If the team does not place a substitute player in the penalty box by the expiration of the Major penalty they must continue to play short-handed until the next stoppage of play. Once play has been stopped, they may place five players on the ice for the ensuing faceoff (there is NO additional penalty given at this point). If they send a player onto the ice before the next stoppage, they shall be penalized for Illegal Substitution. At this time, the icing rule is in effect even though they are still shorthanded.
This rule does not apply to any goalkeeper penalties, penalty situations that include Minor penalties (2+5+GM), or penalty situations that include Major plus Misconducts (5+10). In these situations, player substitutions must be made immediately.